Mary Kaye – Frontier

New Review by Rick Huff " Best of the West Reviews",Mary Kaye - Frontier

Mary Kaye – Frontier

Actually recorded in 2020 but released later, in our reviewing process this one got missed. It shouldn’t be missed here or anywhere else! In this one Mary Kaye’s voice and songwriting chops are strong as ever, but the production values are the finishing touch.
Mary Kaye - Frontier
Cover CD Mary Kaye – Frontier
Original picks include the title track “Frontier” with Mark Stephenson’s appropriately majestic (if electronic) orchestration, a nudge-nudge wink-wink Gypsy mystical treatment of “The Star” (the club under the bright red neon one in Elko!), a co-write with Ellen Walker “We Dream Of Horses,” the gutty “A Horse Called Freedom,” the up swinger “Scenic Highway” and the sweet personal commitment song “The Ride.” All three covers are picks due to treatments that give the old warhorses a new kick: “Roundup In The Spring,” “Cielito Lindo” and S. Omar Barker’s “Tall Men Riding” done as a duet with daughter Millie Kaye.
Musically Mary Kaye has the seasoned instinct of knowing when to go big, when to go acoustic, when to be expansive and when to bring it down to a gentle coo in the ear. All of it is here. Twelve tracks, very highly recommended.
NOTE: Be careful in seeking out this artist online or you’ll get forever lost in cosmetic country!

CD: (available through

– by Rick Huff


Track List List Mary Kaye – Frontier:

1 – Frontier
2 – We Dream of Horses
3 – Goodbye Gravity
4 – A Horse Called Freedom
5 – Roundup in the Spring
6 – Cielito Lindo
7 – Scenic Highway 12
8 – The Star
9 – Good Mornin’
10 – Small Town Soldier
11 – The Ride
12 – Tall Men Riding
Artículo anterior
Artículo siguiente


Por favor ingrese su comentario!
Por favor ingrese su nombre aquí