Dawn Anita – Singing Cowgirl Rides Again

New Review by Rick Huff " Best of the West Reviews ", Dawn Anita - Singing Cowgirl Rides Again

Dawn Anita
Singing Cowgirl Rides Again

A mix of new Dawn Anita originals, co-writes and best-of’s from the past awaits her fans in this collection. On the CD’s newly recorded tracks, she displays a certain Dale Evans quality. In her earlier featured work, I would draw a Joan Baez comparison. Either way, she’s in pretty good company!

Her original song “Dawni & Cloud” (written about a cousin of her hubby’s) is an album pick, as are co-writes “The Whole World Needs A Hero” (done with Canada’s prolific Mag Mawhinney), “Midnight Cowboy” (written with Dean Charles), her family co-write with husband Jerry and daughter Priscilla Plumlee “Trucker And The Cowboy” and “Kay-Yah Chicksha” (w/ Carol Markstrom). Pick covers include session singer/player Rita Smith’s “Drifter” and Gary Sefton’s pair “Spearfish South Dakota” and “Misfortune’s Own Sons.” Also the return of her take of Stan Lebowski & Herb Newman’s classic “The Wayward Wind” is a welcome inclusion.

Dawn Anita’s releases have always been elevated by superior session players, and the new one is no exception. This artist has been through the wringer health-wise over the past year or more, so her appreciative audience will surely rejoice that this “Singing Cowgirl Rides Again” for them here.

CD: available through dawnanita.com

– by Rick Huff

Track List
1 The Whole World Needs a Hero
2 Drifter
3 Kay-Yah-Ha Chickasaw
4 Night Rider’s Lament
5 Come a Ridin’ Joe Cy
6 The Wayward Wind
7 Spearfish South Dakota
8 Misfotune’s Own Sons
9 Trucker and the Cowboy
10 Dawni and Cloud
11 Midnight Cowboy


Por favor ingrese su comentario!
Por favor ingrese su nombre aquí